Advice needed - RoboClaw 2x30A Wiring with DC Motor, Encoder, Arduino and Voltage Clamping Circuit

General discussion of using Roboclaw motor controllers
citrusying
Advice needed - RoboClaw 2x30A Wiring with DC Motor, Encoder, Arduino and Voltage Clamping Circuit

Post by citrusying »

Hi

I know there are quite a number of posts related to hardware wiring of the RoboClaw 2 x30A already but I don't think there is one with a full wiring diagram that connects the RoboClaw with DC motors, encoders, Arduino and with a voltage clamping circuit. I am very new to electronic hardware and really don't want to blow up the controller or motors so any help would be very much appreciated!

I would be using RoboClaw 2x30A with these two gearmotors that comes equipped with encoders. Have checked that the stall current is within the current limits of RoboClaw.

1) https://www.servocity.com/23-rpm-hd-pre ... -w-encoder
2) https://www.servocity.com/84-rpm-hd-pre ... -w-encoder

I would be using a 12V PC power supply (with on/off switch) to power up RoboClaw, so would require a voltage clamping circuit. And RoboClaw would be hooked up to an Arduino Uno via an optocoupler. The wire circuit is as follows, and components are as per recommended in User Manual page 46. Only one motor connection is shown and I have colour-coded them as much as possible for easy reference.

1) FQP30N06L 60V 32A LOGIC N-Channel MOSFET
2) R2 = 15K
3) R3 = 50W, 4.7Ohms
Capture.JPG
Capture.JPG (135.45 KiB) Viewed 4974 times
Queries:
1) Is the wiring diagram correct? The wiring diagram in the User Manual is a little confusing to translate into an actual circuit, especially onto a stripboard.

2) Gate of MOSFET is connected to S5 I/O pin only or it has to be connected to all three I/O, PWR and GND pins?