Encoder and Following Error

Questions about using encoders with the Roboclaw product line
PdoubleU
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2018 7:05 am

Encoder and Following Error

Postby PdoubleU » Tue Aug 21, 2018 1:23 am

Hello,

Is it somehow possible to read out the actual following error? Or is there a workaround that you could recommend?

Is it true that all encoder pins need 5V? Are you recommending any encoders that are reasonably priced and put out this 5V signal. I am asking since most encoders have a lot lower output signals...
Thanks

User avatar
Basicmicro Support
Posts: 1077
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 9:45 pm

Re: Encoder and Following Error

Postby Basicmicro Support » Wed Aug 22, 2018 11:03 am

There is no following error output currently. This is something we are planning on adding in the near future

I recommend US Digital or CUI encoders. They are available at reasonable prices($24 to $35 the last time I checked) and work well.

PdoubleU
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2018 7:05 am

Re: Encoder and Following Error

Postby PdoubleU » Sun Sep 09, 2018 1:32 am

Hi,
Thenks for your response.

I got the encoder working using a pull up resistor.
But now, after a couple of days working fine I suddenly get a somehow strange behaviour.

For some reason the encoder counts are counting up itself rapidly as soon as the roboclaw is under power. when I turn the rotary encoder manually this will influence the count-up in a way that it slow down or accelerates the counts depending on which direction i turn the rotary encoder to.

When I suddenly turn the encoder very fast about 180 degree or so, the counting-up stops for some seconds before it starts again.

I guess, something is broken there, right?
Do you have any experience with this behaviour?

Thanks

User avatar
Basicmicro Support
Posts: 1077
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 9:45 pm

Re: Encoder and Following Error

Postby Basicmicro Support » Mon Sep 10, 2018 9:51 am

I've never seen anything like it. Please check your actual signal values. Preferably with an Oscilloscope. Is the singal line static on both the A and B channels of the encoder?

How are you reading the encoder values to test this(IonStudio or your own packetserial commands).


Return to “Velocity and Position Control”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron