Relation between main battery voltage and motor voltage on RoboClaw 2x15A

General discussion of using Roboclaw motor controllers
Post Reply
historicode97
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2022 8:20 am

Relation between main battery voltage and motor voltage on RoboClaw 2x15A

Post by historicode97 » Wed Apr 20, 2022 1:55 pm

Hello,

I'm looking to controlling two 12V BDC motors with a RoboClaw 2x15A (each motor on it's own motor channel). I will power the RoboClaw 2x15A with a 4S LiPo (14.8-16.8 V).

I was wondering if the whole 14+ V will be feeded to the motors, or if there's a way to regulate the output voltage for each motor. Otherwise, if I use a voltage regulator to feed 12V to the RoboClaw, should I add a diode in parallel like the diode on the fuse in this schematic ?

Image

Second question on the same topic : each motor has a stall current of 5.5 A and the RoboClaw's logic circuit current draw is 30 mA. If I want to put a fuse between my LiPo and my RoboClaw, should i plan that the fusemust handle 11.03 A ? Or should I instead use a fuse that handles less current and breaks at stall current ?

Sorry if my questions are obvious, I am still a relative beginner with electronics.

rusty-hatchet
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2022 8:07 pm

Re: Relation between main battery voltage and motor voltage on RoboClaw 2x15A

Post by rusty-hatchet » Wed Apr 27, 2022 8:21 pm

__bump__

I've been wondering the same thing for a while! I have a 'Wild Thumper 4WD' with a RoboClaw 2x15 .. been wanting to replace the battery pack (currently a homebrew 2x3 18650 pack (7.2V nom., 8.4V max) with a 12V AGM motorcycle battery. These motors have a maximum nom. voltage of 7.2V according to Pololu...and last thing I want to happen is burn something up trying to upgrade! :shock: :shock: :o :o :lol: :lol: :lol:

https://www.pololu.com/product/1567

rusty-hatchet
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2022 8:07 pm

Re: Relation between main battery voltage and motor voltage on RoboClaw 2x15A

Post by rusty-hatchet » Wed Apr 27, 2022 8:43 pm

searching further ... viewtopic.php?f=2&t=1135
Like most motor controllers/driver the output from the Roboclaw is a PWM of the battery input. So no, you can't limit the output voltage. You can only limit the output power.
:cry: :? :roll: ;)

Post Reply