Packet Serial Mode: Multiple Motor Controllers

General discussion of using Roboclaw motor controllers
roadnarrows
Packet Serial Mode: Multiple Motor Controllers

Post by roadnarrows »

Hello, I'm attempting to utilize two RoboClaws in Packet Serial mode at the same time.

-I have one motor controller set to mode 7, option 4 (address 0x80, baud 38400), and the other mode 8, option 4 (address 0x81, baud 38400). I will refer to each controller by their addresses from here on.
-I have a 5V Atmega328 based master. I will refer to it as the master.
-I will refer to the UART's TX and RX lines conceptually from the perspective of the master.

-The set up consists of the master with 0x80 and 0x81 connected to the same UART lines.
-I have a scope probing TX and RX.
-I am attempting to "ping" the 0x80 and 0x81 to test the setup by reading their versions (command 21).

-The problem I'm running into is that I get no response back when both 0x80 and 0x81 are connected.
-I do get a response back when only 0x80 or 0x81 is connected.

-Things I've noticed:
---The message from master looks clean and correct.
---The high voltage of the RX signal coming from 0x80 or 0x81 is only 3.5 volts (I would expect 5.0 volts)
---The low voltage when only either 0x80 or 0x81 is connected is roughly 0.5 volts.
---The low voltage when both 0x80 and 0x81 are connected is roughly 1.7 volts.

-Note:
---Master, 0x80, 0x81 are all powered seperately, and jumpers are set correctly.
---They all share ground.
---The supply voltage of master, 0x80, and 0x81 are all measured to be roughly 5 volts.
---Isolating either 0x80 or 0x81 and measuring the voltage on the isolated RX lines reads roughly 3.5 volts.

-Questions I have:
---Is the 3.5 volts measured from 0x80 and 0x81's RX lines normal?
---Why are the low voltages of RX lines 0.5 volts when 0x80 and 0x81 are separate, but 1.7 volts when connected?
---What possible mistakes have I made?