Need help for basic RoboClaw 2x30A wirings.

General discussion of using Roboclaw motor controllers
avatli
Need help for basic RoboClaw 2x30A wirings.

Post by avatli »

I'm trying to build an autonomous car using RoboClaw 2x30A. As a simple software developer, I am not very good at hardware work. I designed something myself, but I have to confirm the correctness to not damaging my electronic parts. I think my questions are very simple, please help me..

First, I have 4 motors, each's stall current is 20A, voltage range is 6V - 12V and no load current is ~0.5A. Also I have two 2x30A RoboClaw driver. I though driving two motors with one RoboClaw driver.

1) I'll use 3S, 1750mAh - 25C LiPo battery, is it adequate?
2) I'll use 13 AWG silicone wires (max amps is 35A) to connect a LiPo battery to RoboClaw (+) and (-) inputs. LiPo battery will connect two RoboClaws. Is it possible?
3) I'll use 15 AWG silicone wires (max apms is 28A) to connect RoboClaw M1A/B-m2A/B to motors.
4) Can I use RoboClaw BEC output to power a Raspberry PI?
5) According to RoboClaw Series User Manual, page 62, Packet Serial Wiring, there is not a fuse or diode, but at page 40, Safety Wiring needs a fuse, a pre-charge resistor, and a a high current diode. I'll use a raspberry Pi, so do I need safety, or can I use the packet serial wiring without a concern?

Best Regards.
Basicmicro Support
Re: Need help for basic RoboClaw 2x30A wirings.

Post by Basicmicro Support »

If you are not planning on using encoders you should be able to run all 4 motors from one Roboclaw 2x30. You will connect two motors in parrelel to each motor channel.
1 to 3 Looks fine
4. Yes
5. The different wiring diagrams are simplified. A fuse and diode across the fuse with an optional power switch is recommended.
avatli

Post by avatli »

Ok, got it, since I'll not use encoders I can control 4 motors with on RoboClaw 2x30A.

In this case,