Novice Velocity PID Instructions?

Questions about using encoders with the Roboclaw product line
nickosinski
Novice Velocity PID Instructions?

Post by nickosinski »

Hello,

I've hunted through these forums as well as on Google so I apologize if this information is already posted somewhere, but I've been unable to locate it.

I'm a complete novice when it comes to PID and configuring motor controllers like the RoboClaws. I have two old 2x5a RCs each running two motors (4 motors total). My objective is to get all 4 motors:

1) accelerating at the same rate,
2) running at the same speed, and
3) covering the same total distance

I have tried using the "default" values found in the manual (below) and elsewhere on the web, but I do not understand how to go about adjusting these values (via Arduino - I know that this is not the idea way, but it's the only option that I have), in order to achieve my objectives above:

#define Kp_1 1.0
#define Ki_1 0.5
#define Kd_1 0.25

or

#define Kp_1 1.0
#define Ki_1 0
#define Kd_1 0

(btw, I'm using the SetM1VelocityPID command with the above values) Do I need to set Position PID too?

Clearly, using the same values on both controllers and each motor on each controller is not getting me anywhere and each RC, and likely each motor, requires unique values. Can someone give "dummy"-type instructions for how to adjust the above values for each motor to get the motors "synchronized" and achieve my objectives?

I suppose the basic question applies to anyone with more than one motor, so my question boils down to how to go about adjusting the P, I and D values such that one motor matches the accel, speed and distance of another motor.

I would love instructions such as: Set the values of one motor at X, Y and Z (for PID), and then increment the values on the 2nd motor up or down accordingly... something like that. Is that possible?

Thank you to anyone who can help... I've been struggling with this for a while! :)

Nick.
Basicmicro Support