Absolute and quadrature encoding

Questions about using encoders with the Roboclaw product line
Post Reply
robg
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2017 11:48 pm

Absolute and quadrature encoding

Post by robg » Tue Mar 05, 2019 12:46 pm

Hi,

Scrathing my head on this one, have a two motor setup with one using absolute and the other using quatrature encoding.

Both motors work and provide feedback only via Encoder M1 and only relevant encoding selected on that particular motor on M1 ie Quad or abs. will it provide feedback.
It seems both motors are therefore connected to EN1 inputs, which they are physically not. One motor is definetely connected to EN2 input.
Using the same hardware I connected 2 x qaud. motors and encoder inputs report position info.correctly.
So little confused here as to why the two encoders want to report back via M1 encoder only, have checked my encoder wiring (using a 15K pullup for the abs input) and it appears all good.
Testing with Roboclaw 7A and with ionmotion windows software.

Any guidance appreciated.

Thanks,

Rob.

robg
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2017 11:48 pm

Re: Absolute and quadrature encoding

Post by robg » Tue Mar 05, 2019 2:14 pm

Okay,

Found by chance this:
https://forums.basicmicro.com/viewtopic ... enc1#p2677

So changing the software from IonStudio to BasicMotion fixed the problem, which is ridiculous. Why allow updates of IONStudio which doesn't work and is no longer supported???

User avatar
Basicmicro Support
Posts: 1258
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 9:45 pm

Re: Absolute and quadrature encoding

Post by Basicmicro Support » Wed Mar 06, 2019 10:12 am

Ion Studio is no longer available for download from our website so you had an old copy apparently. We keep old versions available for legacy customers because some of them use our controllers in commercial products or have no need of any of the new features. In other words, for them, if it isnt broke dont fix it. So we must keep old versions available for that group of people.

Post Reply