RoboClaw Solo 60A conneting to a AndyMark PG188 motor

Questions about using encoders with the Roboclaw product line
Post Reply
joebowen42
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 20, 2020 9:50 am

RoboClaw Solo 60A conneting to a AndyMark PG188 motor

Post by joebowen42 » Wed May 20, 2020 10:14 am

Dear Support.
Looking for any guidance of how to configure the Pulse encoder on the PG188 to work with Motor Driver.

I used the encoder cable, am-2992 (from AndyMark)

I am using Ion Studio to test, and the Speed is going from positive to negative and the pulse 0-1

Thanks Joe

User avatar
Basicmicro Support
Posts: 1433
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 9:45 pm

Re: RoboClaw Solo 60A conneting to a AndyMark PG188 motor

Post by Basicmicro Support » Thu May 21, 2020 8:49 am

1. Make sure you are suing Basicmicro Motion Studio. Ion Studio is very old and only available for legacy purposes.

2. You can see the pinouts of their encoder on this page: https://www.andymark.com/products/hall- ... el-encoder

Based on the pictures:
Red = 5v
Black = GND
Yellow = Ch A
Green = Ch B

Connect 5v to a 5v pin on the Roboclaw, GND to a gnd pin and Ch A and B to the encoder inputs for en1 or en2 depending on the motor channel you are using.

Here is a link to how you wire an encoder(using a Pololu motor so just ignore the motor power pins): https://resources.basicmicro.com/pololu-encoder-wiring/

joebowen42
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 20, 2020 9:50 am

Re: RoboClaw Solo 60A conneting to a AndyMark PG188 motor

Post by joebowen42 » Thu May 21, 2020 2:10 pm

Using Basicmicro Motion Studio
Checked Connectors, appear correct
Does pin 1 and 2 need to be connected to a seperate 5v source?

the Speed is going from positive to negative and the Encoder 0 to -2

Is there any thing that needs to be set on the General Settings page to support the encoders?

Thanks

User avatar
Basicmicro Support
Posts: 1433
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 9:45 pm

Re: RoboClaw Solo 60A conneting to a AndyMark PG188 motor

Post by Basicmicro Support » Fri May 22, 2020 8:34 am

Some encoders need pullup resistors from the A and B signals to 5v to work correctly. The Andymark documentation doesnt mention it as far as I could find but I've seen that issue before. If you have a scope you can see if the encoder signals are correct(square wavees 0 to 5v amplitudes, if not I'd try adding the pullup resistors, 1k, 4.7k or 10k should work.

If you still have problems take a picture of your wiring with a close up on the Solos pin header.

Quadrature encoder support is enabled by default so it should just work if the signals are ok.

Post Reply